How To Manage Your Task When You’re Slightly Overextended

Balancing Act index

I wear a lot of hats during the day. I am a publisher, a wife, a dog owner, a networker, a writer, a entrepreneur, and daughter. I know you are saying, we all wear many hats so what? Well, sometimes I feel so overwhelmed because I have a to-do list a mile long and hardly anything with a line through it. I like to be organized and things run smoothly in the perfect world. But I realized five years ago when I became a entrepreneur I needed a system.

I wanted to share with you what I do to keep myself from being overwhelmed and overextended most of the time. I do admit I’m still working on my system. These may not work for you but for me they help.

1. I keep an on-going T0-Do list. I then pull each day what I have to do for that day.

2. I use a journal that I keep notes, meetings, ideas and any information in one place.

3. I am learning to say no, even though I feel guilty sometime. Because I do spread myself too thin at times.

4. I create systems for each major activity I have to do. For example, I have a system for my chair position with the PR committee of my networking group. I know what has to be done and when. This has helped me stay focused and on task.  I created a system for this 30 day blogathon by having a editorial calendar that lets me know what I will be writing to save time. I do admit I do make last minute changes.

5. I take some time to de-stress by doing my artwork, if only for a few hours. It helps me balance everything.

I know these are not new tips or ideas but I wanted to share after my day today. I got to improve some systems and create a new system in order for my life to stay as balanced as possible.

What systems do you use to take control of your life being business or personal?

20140602-213311-77591844.jpg

 

Damita

Be Creative Everyday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

